AdWords Geo-targetting

Best Strategy and Tips for Local AdWords

Google AdWords is one of the best tools for driving traffic to a website quickly. But it can be a money-pit. We want to find the perfect balance between getting traffic and not spending too much money.

One way is to ensure that you are advertising the best geographical area. This article gives some tips on local AdWords.  Read more

SEO, Hosting, PPC, Social Media and Support

5 Things Your Business Should Not Ignore

Business owners – you know that there are a million-and-one things that need doing that are unconnected with what the business actually does. From accounting, to recruiting, to legal compliance, to managing staff and marketing … it goes on and on. It all conspires to eat up your time and drive you slowly crazy. But most of these non-core activities are best left in the hands of specialist professionals. This includes growing and managing your online presence.

Often the online side of business is delegated to employees who have to take time out from their official roles to send out a mailshot or tweet a few things from the company account. This achieves little and could be using up valuable employee time.

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Three Things Affecting Paid Search Coming Down the Line

Here are three important things that are going to be big news in the world of PPC and SEO.

Local search ads

Ads on Google Maps will lead people straight to your location.

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smartphone_flickr_philcampbell_2Call-only ads

70% of mobile searchers call a business directly from search results. Mobile users don’t necessarily want to click through to a website. They want to call you right now, especially if their need is urgent – for example, breakdown services, dentists, or pizza! Call-only ads bypass the website completely and you bid for calls, not clicks.

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Expanded text ads

This new type of ad will be rolling out soon and in time will likely overtake the text ads we have now. Google is doubling the length of the title, and this can lead to a doubling of clickthrough rates.

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PPC vs SEO – Which is Better?

SEO
SEO (Search Engine Optimisation) is the ongoing process of optimising web pages and content to ensure they closely match what users are searching for, and will therefore be ranked in higher in search engines such as Google.

Online marketing is crucial for any business – especially search engine presence. The two main tools that help businesses get ahead of their online competitors are Pay Per Click advertising (PPC) and Search Engine Optimisation (SEO). So often, companies will ask, ‘which is better?’

But it’s the companies that ask, ‘which is better for my business‘ who can really make the most of the online marketing available to them.

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How much to bid on AdWords

How Much Should I Bid for a Click on AdWords?

new google adwords logoYou’re probably keen to know how much it actually costs to advertise on Google. AdWords is an auction where you bid against other advertisers for a more prominent position. But how much should bid for a click? Or to use AdWords-speak – what’s my Maximum Cost Per Click?

There’s no one answer, because all businesses are different.

Auction hammer

In the great auction that is AdWords, how much should I bid?

One business – for example a lawyer – might have high-priced services with a small number of customers, and another – for example a hardware store – might sell low-priced products to many customers.

These two types of business are very different so the bid price for one click will be very different.

Nevertheless, there ‘s a simple formula that can help you work out how much to bid for a click.

Net Profit Per Sale x Conversion rate%

Your Net Profit Per Sale is the average amount that you make on any sale, after you deduct all your costs.

Your Conversion Rate is the percentage of people who click your ad and then go on to buy. Before we start our campaign we have to guess what the conversion rate might be – that’s where experience of running many campaigns comes in! Let’s assume a typical conversion rate of 1% – 1 in 100 people who click your ads go on to buy a will.

Now let’s work out your maximum bid price.

If you sell a will-writing service for £500 per will, let’s assume your Net Profit Per Sale on each will is £200.

So your Net Profit Per Sale * Conversion Rate is £200 * 1% = £2. Your maximum bid price for clicks will therefore be £2.

That’s just to break even, of course! You’ll want to make money on each sale, so perhaps a better maximum bid price would be £1 – giving you a clear £100 profit on each sale.

For more advice on AdWords, why not get in touch?

How to Dominate Local Search With PPC Marketing

Recently we gave a talk at the Surbiton Business Expo. We spoke about how to make quick, free wins in local SEO strategies to get your website to the top of Google search, and Pay Per Click (or PPC) for local businesses.

Focusing on the small

Let’s look at how focusing on your local target audience can grow the biggest results for your local business online with Pay Per Click (PPC) advertising. Read more